Hello!

Today I’ve not really been editing or adding to the game. I’ve been on the lookout for Advertising SDK’s, since after reading a blog post about Ad’s being a valid way to Monetize apps on the Windows Phone 7 Marketplace I thought I’d have a look into it.

As soon as I started I realised one major problem, Microsofts Advertising SDK can only be used by people with a valid US Tax Number and US Address, neither of them I have, and one of them is impossible to acquire. After some digging and asking questions I found out that Microsoft are planning to allow Western Europe to use the AdCenter very soon. I sit with my fingers crossed hoping that it is within this next month!

As for some alternatives to Microsoft’s own SDK, there are 2 that I could find. Smaato and Millennial Media:

Smaato SDK doesn’t even have any implementation details at all for XNA, only Silverlight (Even though it claims it works in both). So after trying everything I could think nothing seemed to work and I gave up (which is a shame, Smaato looked the best). The Silverlight implementation looks very simple, and looks as though it works well too! There are 3 Silverlight samples.

Millennial Media’s SDK is a little more friendly for XNA in the fact that it works and is only a few lines to implement! The main problem being that it draws behind everything, so you have to have an area on the screen where nothing is being drawn for the advert to be seen. I’ve not tried the Silverlight implementation, but just by looking at it, it seems to be extremely simple.

So after playing around with the SDK’s for probably over an Hour ( I started looking yesterday) I found that at this moment in time, monetizing free games for developers outside of the UK looks difficult. I’ll wait for the official solution!

I will (hopefully) be getting the artwork for the leaderboard screens later today! So tomorrow if everything implements well there may well be a video showing them in action!

